Reviews

Review: Wicked the Musical

Wicked is a Tony Award-winning Broadway and West End musical, with songs and lyrics by Stephen Schwartz. The story is based on the best-selling novel Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire, a parallel novel of L. Frank Baum’s classic story The Wizard of Oz from the perspective of the witches of the Land of Oz.
Wicked tells the story of Elphaba, the future Wicked Witch of the West and her relationship with Glinda, the Good Witch of the North.

I really like musicals, so I was looking forward to reviewing Wicked when it was suggested through my contact page!
This musical has a really interesting take on the Wizard of Oz story and I enjoyed listening to it. It has a modern approach while still feeling like a traditional musical, which I liked. I wasn’t quite sure who all the characters were but with a bit more listening I can see how you can connect with them! A few of my favourite songs were What is this Feeling, Popular, One Short Day, Defying Gravity and For Good.
I really liked the character of Glinda, especially played by  Kristin Chenoweth. She seemed kind, witty and interesting and I loved Kristin Chenoweth’s voice! This musical was quite different to what I usually listen to but I really liked a lot of the songs and the great character development! I found some of the songs slightly slow but most of them were catchy and contained great lyrics. I would give this musical 8/10 🙂 It’s not my favourite musical; I think I prefer less traditional productions, but I did really enjoy it. I would recommend checking it out! There are a couple of playlists available on YouTube.
Thanks for reading,
kate x

Image result for wicked the musical

2 thoughts on “Review: Wicked the Musical

Leave a Reply

